Stunning Sentences

Writing that really pops is always full of stunning sentences. I love savoring these kinds of sentences as I read, and I try to find ways to write my own savory sentences. Depending on the kind of writing you are into, you can’t always be too poetic or certain kinds of readers get bored. But even in genre fiction, mystery, or action adventures, there is always room for some well crafted similes or metaphors, right?

img_4211Here is one of my favorite sentences from a weird western I read recently, The Hawkline Monster by Richard Brautigan. There are some amazing sentences in this book.

“The road was very bleak, wandering like the handwriting of a dying person over the hills.”

And, this is an amazing sentence describing a kiss between Tris and Four in Insurgent by Veronica Roth:

“I press into the distance between us until it is gone, crushing the secrets we have kept and the suspicions we have harbored-for good, I hope.”

From the master of horror, Edgar Allen Poe, comes this choice sentence describing one of the creepy rooms in the house of Usher, from the short story, The Fall of the House of Usher:

“Feeble gleams of encrimsoned light made their way through the trellised panes, and served to render sufficiently distinct the more prominent objects around; the eye, however, struggled in vain to reach the remoter angles of the chamber, or the recesses of the vaulted and fretted ceiling.”

These are just a few poetic moments in stories that aren’t necessarily boxed into the Literary Fiction genre. As I continue to read, I plan to pay more attention to lovely writing and share choice sentences I come across with you all.

Do you have any favorite sentences? And how do you feel about stories that are more poetic than action or plot-based?

 

3 thoughts on “Stunning Sentences

  1. I also enjoy beautifully written sentences, but for some reason, my brain never remembers specifics. (Only plot and character stuff about the story I read.)

    Probably the one favorite I have is “He was born with the gift of laughter and the knowledge that the world was mad.” It’s from a book called Scaramouche. Not people have read it, sadly, but it’s right up there with Three Musketeers for swash-buckling fun.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

